Tom returns from London to find Sam Rubenfeld announcing his departure from the WSJ Risk and Compliance Journal via Twitter. Tom and Jay are back together to take a look at some of this week’s top compliance and ethics stories which caught their collective eyes this week.

  1. Ethisphere’s 2019 World’s Most Ethical companies’ awards is announced. Matt Kelly in Radical Compliance. For the full list see Ethisphere’s announcement.
  2. Fresenius announces a pending FCPA resolution. Sam Rubenfeld reports in the WSJ Risk and Compliance Journal Sam announces his departure from the Risk and Compliance Journal via Twitter.
  3. The UK Serious Fraud Office closes its investigation into GSK and Rolls Royce with no individuals prosecuted. How could this happen? Tabby Kinder reports on the reaction in the UK in the London Time Harry Cassin reports in the FCPA Blog.
  4. What new industries are under FCPA scrutiny? David Chaikin and Kurt Wolfe report in Law360. (sub req’d)
  5. Bio-Rad GC retains most of his whistleblower award. Jason Zuckerman on the legal angle in the National Law Review. (sub req’d) Bob Egelko gives the Bay Area perspective in the San Francisco Chronicle.
  6. What is the intersection of Supply Chain and security? Michael Mason, Robert Taylor, Stacy Hadeka and William Kirkwood report in Law360. (sub req’d)
  7. What are the dangers of a GC shirking their FCPA duties? Michele Gorman investigates in Law360. (sub req’d)
  8. What is the intersection of sports and compliance? Tom explores in two blog posts this week, Zion and Nike and Kraft and compliance. Tom and Matt Kelly take a deep dive into the Kraft imbroglio on Compliance into the Weeds.
  9. Proviti’s Jim DeLoach named recipient of the 2019 Bette Steed Leadership Award by the Greater Houston Business and Ethics Roundtable. Tom reports in the FCPA Compliance and Ethics Blog.
  10. Tom has a special 4-part podcast series this week, Live from London where he was interviewed Jonathan Armstrong. Check out the following: Part 1-customers emerging as corruption risks, Part 2-state of compliance in 2019; Part 3– the Cognizant Technology FCPA declination; and Part 4-regime change and compliance. The podcast is available on multiple sites: the FCPA Compliance Report, iTunes, JDSupra, Panoplyand YouTube. The Compliance Podcast Network is now also on Spotify. It is soon to be on Corporate Compliance Insights.
  11. Navex Global is putting on a virtual master class– Ethics Beyond Compliance: Retaliation, Thursday, March 14, 2019 at 8:30 AM Pacific | 10:30 AM Central | 11:30 AM Eastern | 3:30 PM GMT. Registration and agenda are available here.

Tom Fox is the Compliance Evangelist and can be reached at tfox@tfoxlaw.com. Jay Rosen is Mr. Monitor and can be reached at jrosen@affiliatedmonitors.com.

For more information on how an independent monitor can help improve your company’s ethics and compliance program, visit our sponsor Affiliated Monitors at www.affiliatedmonitors.com.

0 comments